Collaborations and Valkyries

I’m incredibly pleased to talk a bit about the work of one of my MFA classmates and dearest friends, Emilie Lundstrøm. A native of Denmark, Emilie grew up on a tiny island, sailing to school every day and living deeply in tune with the natural world around her. Working with a repetition of shapes and organic materials, her work reflects her nordic heritage as well as her profound curiosity for and love of nature.

A sculptural installation by Emilie Lundstrøm

Screen Shot 2015-08-30 at 5.53.05 PM

Little fox made by Emilie Lundstrøm

valkyrie shots-1

My Valkyries

Emilie and I had many opportunities to work together during our time in the MFA program at ICP-Bard, from books to symposiums to installing our thesis shows back-to-back. I’m super pleased to be working with her again on a big project, bringing her heritage and norse mythology into conversation with my experience in Svalbard and the history of exploration in the arctic. We’re hoping for this collaboration to produce at least a show, if not books in addition.

Screen Shot 2015-08-30 at 5.52.04 PM

Sculpture by Emilie Lundstrøm

Screen Shot 2015-08-30 at 5.51.27 PM

Sculptural installation by Emilie Lundstrøm

ISCP Sound cut1

Sculpture of handmade ceramic flutes with tubing and artist, Emilie Lundstrøm

I can’t wait to fill you all in on more details, but that will have to wait for a while yet! Until then, peruse some of Emilie’s amazing work and maybe get yourself a Valkyrie for a little extra luck and protection. Worn into battle by the Vikings and found in ancient burial contexts, the Valkyrie is a symbol or protection, fortitude and luck. Emilie has given me some of her handmade ceramic and porcelain Valkyries for my journey north!

Leave a comment